Skip to main content
Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

Carolina Global Food Program “Summer Scholars”

March 1, 2016

tractorThe Carolina Global Food Program, an initiative within the Global Research Institute, is instituting a competitive scholarship program beginning in the summer of 2016.

In the program two Carolina Global Food Program “Summer Scholars” will be awarded up to $5,000 each to support food- related summer research projects. The awardees will explore a topic relating to food or agriculture, broadly conceived. The topic may have an academic or policy focus, or an emphasis on public service. As such, projects can be archivally-based or involve field work or engagement experiences. Preference will be given to projects that are responsive to the goals of the university theme “Food for All” and the long-term advancement of food studies at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Application requirements:

  • A current resume
  • A statement of intent, which should also reveal the applicant’s writing ability (1,000 word limit)
  • A detailed budget
  • Listing of other scholarship or award funding
  • A reference from a UNC faculty member willing to serve as a mentor throughout the project

End –of- award period expectations:

  • A written piece demonstrating the knowledge gained during the summer research.
  • The scholar will be required to share a presentation in a group setting.
  • The scholar may be asked to serve in the screening process for future applicants.

Application Screening Committee:

  • James Ferguson, Director, Carolina Global Food Program
  • Samantha Buckner Terhune, Associate Director, Carolina Global Food Program
  • Alice Ammerman Director, Center of Health Promotion and Disease Prevention
  • Peter Coclanis Director, Global Research Institute

Award timeline:

  • Application deadline – March 1, 2016
  • Interviews – March 21-31, 2016
  • Finalist notification – April 5, 2016
  • Acceptance Deadline – April 8, 2016

Please email for further information.



March 1, 2016